Sega naomi games with odd button layouts?

Naomi & all other arcade tech questions forum
OldFoo

Sega naomi games with odd button layouts?

Post by OldFoo »

Hello,

I'm pretty new to collecting arcade hardware and I've build my jamma supergun in the summer. I have acquired a sega naomi but without game yet but soon I'll start getting some games.

Now to get to my question: are there any sega naomi games (both cart and gd-rom wise) that have weird/odd button layouts? With that I mean games like guilty gear that have the naomi 5th button wired to the physical button at the spot for the hard kick button.

Sounds a bit vague so allow me to explain it a bit better using my ascii art skills:

Normal situation:

[1] [2] [3]

[4] [5] [6]

Guilty Gear situation:

[1] [2] [3]

[4] [x] [5]

The "normal situation" also covers games for example only use a few buttons (like 3 buttons), but with those few buttons wired like the normal situation (like some shmups).

So does anybody know any other games besides guilty gear with odd/weird button layouts? If so, help would be appreciated so I can wire my arcade controller appropriately. Also, I don't mean games that don't use the standard joystick and buttons (like fishing and driving games).

Thanks in advance. :D
OldFoo

Post by OldFoo »

I know at least one of the guilty gear games supports button mapping in test mode. It's the only game i know of that does.

I wired my sticks so I could move the switches. Basically I used separate ground wires that meet near the harness. I can pop out a microswitch and move it if I don't like the button mapping of a game:

OldFoo

Post by OldFoo »

skate323k137 wrote:I know at least one of the guilty gear games supports button mapping in test mode. It's the only game I know of that does.

I wired my sticks so I could move the switches. Basically I used separate ground wires that meet near the harness. I can pop out a microswitch and move it if I don't like the button mapping of a game: